Saying goodbye

img_8004

My friend and I went our seperate ways today. He headed to Osaka for his last night before flying home and I was bound for Tokyo. Last night we had an evening of sake, origami and sushi. It was pure Japanese bliss. Today we had a last coffee together in a Hawaiian shop (bit random to find in the outskirts of Kyoto) and went our seperate ways.

It was odd being alone again. I had been a bit nervous about it because travelling around has been a bit tough. The last definite that I had on my list was going to the Kinkaku-ji temple or Golden pavillion. So I dropped my growing rucksack at the station and got a bus to the temple. Oddly (and I suppose not surprisingly) I daydreamed less and was a lot more aware of what was going on around me than I have been the last couple of weeks. Actually maybe more like the last month!

img_8015 img_8016

It was really strange being at the temple alone. A feeling so many lone travellers have described to me- when you see a sight so beautiful you just want someone there to say ‘wow’ to. I get it now. Its an amazing spectacle. Just a perfect setting. But I felt like I would have enjoyed it more if I had my friend there sharing it with me.

After enjoying the view. I felt I needed some time to chill. Naturally I headed for a McDonalds I’d passed earlier. It is the one place I know I can rely on for free wifi. Japan says that it has free wifi everywhere… it really, really doesn’t!

img_7821img_8035

Following several hours of spamming my friends and family with my news and pictures I am now aboard a night bus for Tokyo. Specifically a “beaute ladies bus”. When booking this my friend and I were in fits and he wouldn’t let me choose a different bus. So here I am. Nice stripy colourful chairs, mirror to hand and some strange looking unidentifiable electrical implement (which I dare not touch in case it goes off and causes havoc) all supporting my beauty!!!!

If I’m honest I’m not overly happy because a few men have boarded the bus…

img_8023

(The surreal inside of the coach- curtains everywhere! Pretty comfortable though!) img_8030

(I’ve got my pocket mirror! Already feeling beautiful)

img_8034

(The unidentifiable electrical object)

Leave a Reply

