Kyoto

Now is the final leg of this trip. Kyoto. After this will be Tokyo. We are finally back to the civilisation of the modern day and I’m not so sure I like it.

This is what I’ve been looking forward to most, what I longed for when I was younger. When I was 17 I read memoirs of a geisha. Once I finished the book I read it again… two more times. I then watched and bought the film. For a long time it was the only dvd I had bought and the only one I was happy to watch again and again.

Part of me knew I would come here. But now that I’m here I feel underwhelmed and out of my depth. Apparently locals here say that a lifetime is not enough to explore Kyoto. It certainly feels like that. I have things on my list that I want to do and see but there is SO MUCH that it makes me feel overwhelmed.

That is my issue with planning and organising and why I am so terrible at it. Although I have a list of what I want if there is too much to choose from I’m instantly bombarded and overwhelmed. Its like I’m missing a filter in my brain. I have always been dreadful at choosing from menus when I’m out for dinner, it drives my dad up the wall, he always would tell me one day he’ll get me a dice which forces the choice for me. I cannot seem to focus on the thing in front of me and make the choice and the worry that I have made the wrong choice or that there is a better choice out there is what overwhelms me.

In Bali it wasn’t a concern because for some reason I wasn’t too bothered on where we went and what we saw- as long as I saw the temple I wanted to see when I was younger. In Bali the decisions were made for me. Here, a lot of the decisions over the past week have been made- my friend was awesome in planning it out. He had no choice, when he was doing it I was in Bali and had no time to think.

We have two days to explore Kyoto. So I have chopped my list to a few temples and hope to get a sightseeing tour in order to get some background. Hopefully we can cram and I won’t have the worry that it hasn’t been enough.

Leave a Reply

